Meet the Boston Celtics

NBA franchise since 1946 – Boston (1946–present)

Distinguished by much more than a winning dynasty or two, the Boston Celtics claim just about every superlative that can reasonably be applied to a professional sports team. His dominance has spanned decades at a time and has resulted in more NBA championships than any other organization can claim.

The power of the Celtics first emerged in the 1950s, when legendary competitors like Bill Russell, Bob Cousy and Tommy Heinsohn, under Hall of Fame coach Red Auerbach, came together to compile eleven championships in thirteen seasons. (1957-69).

After a lapse of a few years, the trophies of the mid-1970s came to the Boston Garden through the efforts of Coach Heinsohn, succeeding Auerbach and Russell, and star players including John Havlicek, Dave Cowens and Jo Jo White.

The 1980s saw the formation of a new team under coach KC Jones under Auerbach’s expert guidance as General Manager. Larry Bird’s impact on the NBA was swift and dramatic, and this exciting athlete’s talents were complemented by those of Robert Parish and Nate Archibald.

Inevitably, the team endured something of a drought for several years as the organization regrouped and created another winning formula. Coach Doc Rivers and general manager Danny Ainge, working with a roster highlighted by Kevin Garnett, Paul Pierce and Ray Allen, posted a 66-16 record in 2007/08. (This marked an unprecedented improvement over the previous year’s woeful 24-58 tally.) The Celtics won the NBA title in 2008 and made at least the playoffs in each of the next four seasons.

As it continues its incredible legacy, this proud franchise is always ready to adapt, grow and excel!

Seventeen-time NBA championship winners: 1957, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1968, 1969, 1974, 1976, 1981, 1984, 1986, 2008.

Local venues: TD Garden (1995-present), Hartford Civic Center (1975-95), Boston Garden (1946-95), Boston Arena (1946-55).

Retired numbers: Robert Parish, 9-time All-Star (00), Walter A. Brown, team founder (1), Red Auerbach, head coach, 16-time NBA champion coach/executive, 11-time NBA All-Star Game Head Coach (2), Dennis Johnson, 5-time All-Star (3), Bill Russell, 5-time NBA MVP, 12-time All-Star (6), Jo Jo White, 7-time All-Star (10 ), Bob Cousy, 1957 NBA MVP, 13-time All-Star (14), Tom Heinsohn, 6-time All-Star (15), Satch Sanders (16), John Havlicek, 13-time All-Star (17) , Dave Cowens, 1973 NBA MVP, 7-time All-Star (18), Don Nelson (19), Bill Sharman, 8-time All-Star (21), Ed Macauley, 7-time All-Star (22), Frank Ramsey (23), Sam Jones, 5-time All-Star (24), KC Jones, 10-time NBA Champion Player/Coach, 6-time NBA All-Star Head Coach (25), Cedric Maxwell (31), Kevin McHale, 7-time All-Star (32), Larry Bird, 3-time NBA MVP, 12-time All-Star (33), Reggie Lewis, 1992 All-St ar (35).

Additional Hall of Famers: Andy Phillip, John “Honey” Russell, Bill Mokray, Bob Houbregs, Bailey Howell, Pete Maravich, Clyde Lovellette, Dave Bing, Dominique Wilkins, Arnie Risen, Bill Walton, Wayne Embry, Bob McAdoo, Nate Archibald, Alvin “Doggie” Julian, John Thompson, Dave Gavitt, Dennis Johnson, Rick Pitino.

HOF Curt Gowdy Media Award: Curt Gowdy, Johnny Most, Bob Ryan, Jackie MacMullan.

HOF John Bunn Award: Curt Gowdy, Red Auerbach, Bob Cousy, Dave Gavitt.

Notable: Chuck Cooper (one of the first African-American NBA players), Paul Silas, Irving Levin, Don Gaston, ML Carr, Bill Fitch, Len Bias (1986 draft pick), Susan Sykes, Chris Ford, Jim O’ Brien, Paul Pierce Kevin Garnett.

Current stars: Brad Stevens (head coach), Rajon Rondo, Marcus Smart, Avery Bradley, Jeff Green, Jared Sullinger, Kelly Olynyk.

Rivalries: Atlanta Hawks, Brooklyn Nets, Detroit Pistons, Los Angeles Lakers, Miami Heat, New York Knicks, Philadelphia 76ers.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *