How to start a traffic school in California

The first thing to do is go to the California DMV website, dmv.ca.gov. I will add links so you can find the information easily as the DMV website can be a bit difficult to navigate. (AB2499 is the new CA legislation for traffic schools that was implemented on 9.1.2012) It covers all rules and regulations as well as the necessary qualifications for the owner operator and instructor.

After reviewing the information, you will want to print the traffic school owner’s checklist, it will be very helpful in checking off each thing you need to complete.

Opening a school for traffic violators can be a long and tedious endeavor; There are many requirements that must be met before the DMV approves it.

I will list some of the steps required to open your school:

1) The first thing DMV requires is to submit a traffic school lesson plan along with a fee of $ 800.00 for an original online course review, $ 800.00 for a home study course review, or $ 475.00 for a classroom course to be submitted with your OL764 form. You will have to wait up to 120 days for the DMV to do a background check on you and await your approval or denial of your course. If you prefer, you can purchase a pre-approved lesson plan that is probably easier than writing your own, which is a 6-month to a year project. Plus, you’ll receive your approval letter from the DMV in about a week and you’ll only have to pay a $ 25.00 fee to use a pre-approved course.

2) The DMV must approve your traffic school name before you can go ahead with the rest of your application, you will need to complete the OL 612 form, but before wasting time buying your domain name for a traffic school in line, you can. Call the DMV and check if the name you want to use is available at the time of your call (916) 229-3126. If your name is similar to another name that is being used, your domain name will be rejected. If the name is available, you can send the form to the DMV by express mail, they will send you an approval for the name you chose by US mail, which is free marketing for you.

Some additional DMV requirements are: fingerprinting via live scan, obtaining a bond, paying required fees, presenting a certificate of insurance, purchasing a DMV approved lesson plan or writing your own, renting a space office in which to manage your business. and take your traffic violator classes if you want to teach a classroom course. FYI … The DMV makes no distinction between a classroom traffic school or an online traffic school course in terms of the application process, the DMV wants you to have an office space even if you only have an online course . They claim that students should be able to enter the business with which they have chosen to take their traffic school course.

Your application must also have: Guaranteed compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act. Verification of the use of the property. If you incorporate or choose to have a limited liability company or a company owned by a limited liability company: You will need a copy of the articles of incorporation, corporate minutes, or other document filed with the Secretary of State, which identifies the officers, shareholders and managers. An interest in the business is required.

A copy of your business license

Copy of your fictitious name statement

Copy of your rental or lease agreement for all offices and classrooms or use form OL 144, Lease Agreement or Rental Agreement for School Rooms for Traffic Violators.

A California traffic school consists of an owner or owners, an operator who oversees the operation of the school, and the traffic school instructor who will conduct the classes. The operator must take an 8-hour course, either online or in class, as part of their application process if they have never been a licensed DMV operator before. If you have previously been a licensed DMV operator, you only need to take a 4-hour online or in-class course. After the class, they will receive a certificate that can be taken to the DMV with their application packet. After the operator has taken their initial course, be it 4 or 8 hours, they will have to take a mandatory 4-hour class each year. The owner does not have to take a DMV test, but the operator and instructor do. The written exam will consist of traffic laws, safe driving practices, knowledge of teaching methods and techniques. The operator will also have additional test questions on statutes and regulations, office procedures, and record keeping.

These are just some of the requirements that I mentioned above. Read the information on the DMV website before deciding if you want to proceed with opening your school. In my future articles, I will discuss the requirements in more depth for the operator and instructor, as well as promoting yourself on the Internet.

DMV Links:

To view the forms and fees along with the application requirements for the traffic school owner, the link below will show you all the information on one page.

http://dmv.ca.gov/vehindustry/ol/tvschowner.htm

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *